2111MUE03

Philosophy of Science -

Foundations and Implications for Research Designs and Research Methods

Philosophy of science analysis is a basis for evaluating one's own and others' research contributions. However, while reading a scientific paper or monograph requires documenting the methods used, such as a questionnaire to collect data or a regression analysis to evaluate data, the underlying philosophy of science position is often not even mentioned. However, anyone who wants to deal with justification claims of scientific research and its methods cannot avoid dealing with these very positions. Especially in the case of mixed-method studies, such explanations are increasingly demanded by reviewers and journal editors.

The aim of the seminar is therefore to familiarize the participants with the main streams in the philosophy of science and their ontological and epistemological positions that are essential for research. The introduction to the topic will be based on three guiding questions in the context of a "World Café", which will structure the course. The basics of the philosophy of science will be presented by a lecturer and serve as a common basis for discussion of the different positions. Subsequently, the different streams of philosophy of science and their main implications for research methods and research design are presented by the participants, each forming thematic foci. The individual presentations then serve as a basis for the subsequent joint discussion and, if necessary, thematic expansion by the lecturers.

A major objective of the course is to sensitize students to the various streams in the philosophy of science and to provide basic knowledge about different strategies of justification in the philosophy of science in order to enable critical reflection on one's own scientific research. Although the focus of the course is on the discussion of philosophical (philosophy of science) positions, another concern of the course is to address their relevance for scientific practice and to analyze them by means of practical examples.

 
Date:

23. - 26. November 2021
 

Location:

Harnack-Haus Tagungsstätte der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft 
Ihnestr. 16-20
14195 Berlin

 
Language:

Deutsch

Lecturer:

Prof. Dr. Rolf Brühl,
Lehrstuhl für Unternehmensethik und Controlling, ESCP Business School Berlin,
rbruehl@escp.eu

 

Prof. Dr. Thomas Wrona,
Institut für Strategisches & Internationales Management, Technische Universität Hamburg,
thomas.wrona@tuhh.de

 

Registration:

To get an overview of the amount of the participation fee and to register for the course, please use this link: Registration.

You can also send an email to prodok@vhbonline.org.

 

Registration deadline: July 31, 2021

2111MUE03

Philosophy of Science -

Foundations and Implications for Research Designs and Research Methods

Die wissenschaftstheoretische Analyse ist eine Grundlage für die Beurteilung eigener und fremder Forschungsleistungen. Während jedoch bei der Lektüre eines wissenschaftlichen Aufsatzes oder Monographie die eingesetzten Methoden, wie z.B. ein Fragebogen zur Erhebung von Daten oder eine Regressionsanalyse zur Auswertung von Daten, zu dokumentieren sind, wird die zugrunde liegende wissenschaftstheoretische Position häufig nicht einmal erwähnt. Wer sich jedoch mit Begründungsansprüchen wissenschaftlicher Forschung und ihrer Methoden auseinandersetzen will, kommt um eine Beschäftigung mit eben diesen Positionen nicht herum. Insbesondere bei mixed-method-Studien werden zudem solche Expositionen auch von Gutachtern und Journal-Editoren zunehmend eingefordert.

Ziel des Kurses ist es daher, die Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen mit den wesentlichen wissenschaftstheoretischen Strömungen und ihren für die Wissenschaft wesentlichen ontologischen und epistemologischen Positionen vertraut zu machen. Der Einstieg ins Thema erfolgt auf der Basis dreier Leitfragen im Rahmen eines „World Cafés“, die den Verlauf des Kurses strukturieren. Die Grundlagen der Wissenschaftstheorie werden von einem Dozenten vorgestellt und dienen einer gemeinsamen Diskussionsbasis für die verschiedenen Positionen. Anschließend werden die verschiedenen Strömungen der Wissenschaftstheorie und ihre wesentlichen Implikationen für die Forschungsmethoden und das Forschungsdesign durch die Teilnehmenden präsentiert, wobei jeweils Themenschwerpunkte gebildet werden. Die individuellen Präsentationen dienen dann als Grundlage für die anschließende gemeinsame Diskussion und ggf. thematische Erweiterung durch die Dozenten.

Eine wesentliche Zielsetzung des Kurses ist es, für die verschiedenen Strömungen der Wissenschaftstheorie zu sensibilisieren und grundlegende Kenntnisse über verschiedene wissenschaftstheoretische Begründungsstrategien zu vermitteln, um eine kritische Reflektion über die eigene wissenschaftliche Forschung zu ermöglichen. Obwohl der Schwerpunkt des Kurses auf der Diskussion philosophischer (wissenschaftstheoretischer) Positionen liegt, ist es ein weiteres Anliegen des Kurses, deren Bedeutung für die wissenschaftliche Praxis zu thematisieren und anhand praktischer Beispiele zu analysieren.

 

Datum:

23. - 26. November 2021
 

Ort:

Harnack-Haus Tagungsstätte der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft 
Ihnestr. 16-20
14195 Berlin

 

Kurssprache:

Deutsch

Referenten:

Prof. Dr. Rolf Brühl,
Lehrstuhl für Unternehmensethik und Controlling, ESCP Business School Berlin,
rbruehl@escp.eu

Prof. Dr. Thomas Wrona,
Institut für Strategisches & Internationales Management, Technische Universität Hamburg,
thomas.wrona@tuhh.de

Anmeldefrist:

Klicken Sie hier für Informationen zu Gebühren, Zahlung und Anmeldung,
oder schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail: prodok@vhbonline.org.,

 

Anmeldefrist: 31. Juli 2021